Awards and Recognition

Each year the GSNZ presents a number of awards, and recognises members for their achievements and contribution to the geosciences.


Our 2023 awards were presented at our conference dinner in Wellington on Wednesday, 15 November.

You can view the 2023 award winners here.

Congratulations to you all.


Whether you're a student or early career scientist looking for support for your research, or would like to see a colleague honoured please take the time to browse our awards.

All our awards are considered by our Awards Subcommittee.  Members of the Awards Subcommittee are not eligible for any of the awards or prizes under consideration and will ordinarily be chosen so as not to include any author of a paper under consideration. 

Awards are usually presented at our annual conference towards the end of each year.

Application and nomination forms
A full description and application/nomination criteria for all GSNZ awards can be found here.

Any questions about awards should be directed to the Society's Vice President who heads the Awards Subcommittee.

History of our awards and award winners
A brief history of our awards and details of current and past winners can be found here.


Other Awards
The Geoscience Society can nominate members for other awards such as those made by the Royal Society Te Apārangi and the Prime Ministers Science Awards.

Please contact the Secretary, should you wish to nominate a member.

2022 conference dinner and Awards presentation