About Us



The Geoscience Society of New Zealand represents its community by providing collaborative leadership, advocacy and information to connect people and Earth sciences within Aotearoa New Zealand.

We represent amateur and professional members, and are pleased that our hundreds of members comprise high school teachers, students, early career researchers, academics, industry members, consultants, overseas members and retirees.

With eight branches and a number of special interest groups there are plenty of opportunities to get involved and develop your knowledge of the subject.

The GSNZ is governed by an executive committee elected from the membership annually.  You can meet the current committee here.

Regardless of where you live in Aotearoa New Zealand, through our branch network, you will have the opportunity to network with like-minded colleagues in a relaxed and friendly environment.
Discover more about our branches here.

The geosciences cover a number of specialist disciplines within the earth sciences.  As a GSNZ member you will be able to join any number of our Special Interest Groups.  Groups may be sponsored by the Society alone, or jointly in conjunction with other professional associations or societies providing you with an international network of colleagues.

Each year we convene a conference, Aotearoa New Zealand's top gathering of geoscientists, and award and recognise members and other geoscience professionals for their achievements and contribution to the geosciences.

The GSNZ also operates two important sub groups:

More about membership


The GSNZ committee, February 2023

Back row: Sam McColl (Vice President), Alex Nichols (Canterbury rep), Alan Orpin (Treasurer), Michael Rowe (Auckland rep)

Front row: Sebastian Naeher (member), Andrew La Croix (Waikato rep), Steph Coursey (Student Rep), Kat Holt (President), Nicola Litchfield (member), Nicki Sayers (Administrator), Jenny Stein (Secretary), Matt Sagar (Publications)

Absent: James Scott (Immediate Past President), Janis Russell (Newsletter Editor), Angela Griffin (member), Shannen Mills (member).