GSNZ 2021 Award winners

Congratulations to all our 2021 GSNZ Award winners

The Society held its first ever online awards presentation on 2 December.  In case you were not able to attend the following awards, prizes and scholarships were announced:

Honorary Life Member – Julie Palmer (Massey University) for over 25 years of service to GSNZ at the local and national level

McKay Hammer – Joshu Mountjoy (NIWA) for a seminal contribution to our understanding of New Zealand’s submarine canyon systems and deep-water dispersal events

Hochstetter Lecturer – Dave Prior (University of Otago) Lecture title: The Shear Zones that Hold Back the Ice Sheets

S H Wilson Prize – Kevin Brown for a lifetime of service to Geochemistry

New Zealand Geophysics Prize – Donna Eberhart-Phillips (GNS Science/UC Davis) for a significant contribution to New Zealand geophysics through seismic tomography work

Werner F Giggenbach Prize – Terry Isson (University of Waikato) for a comprehensive review article of the global long-term carbon cycle

Hayward Geocommunication Award – Oliver McLeod (Victoria University of Wellington) in recognition of sustained efforts to engage in geoscience communication with community groups in the Waikato region and beyond

Wellman Research Award - Ella Nisbet (Massey University) for PhD research into paleo-history of large, soft-rock landslides in the Manawatū/Rangitikei Region

Kingma Award – Sascha Baldwin (University of Canterbury) for support to both teaching and research at the University of Canterbury

Alan Mason Historical Studies – John Griffiths (Massey University) for research entitled Displaying New Zealand’s Mineral Wealth at International, National and Provincial Exhibitions 1851-1990

Jim Ansell Geophysics Scholarship – El Mestel (Victoria University of Wellington) for research using seismicity and tomography to investigate the magma system and volcano-tectonic interactions at Taupō

S.J. Hastie Scholarships

University of Auckland: Ema Nersezova

University of Canterbury: George Young

Massey University: Susan McLachlan

University of Otago: Zoe MacClure

Victoria University of Wellington: Jessie Schuler

University of Waikato: William Starzynski 

Full details of all recipients and details of their awards will be added to the website soon.