Call for Award nominations

Call for Nominations and Applications for the 2021 GSNZ Annual Awards

The awards on offer this year are listed below. Please note, this year the Hornibrook Award (offered in alternate years) and the S.H. Wilson Medal for Geochemistry (offered once every four years) are open for nominations. 

Please email your nominations/applications to the Awards Subcommittee Convenor, Kat Holt, at by
15 September NB dated extended from 1 September.

For more details on individual awards and to download nomination templates please visit the Awards section of our website.



Premier Geoscience-wide Awards

Hochstetter Lecturer

For a geoscientist with excellent public speaking skills to present new research to all branches of GSNZ. We welcome nominations of ALL members of the geoscience community for this award, from ECRs, through to senior geoscientists.

McKay Hammer

For the author(s) of the most meritorious geoscience paper(s) from the last 3 years (2018-2020).

GSNZ Honorary Member

Nominations are called for to recognise outstanding lifetime contributions to geoscience in New Zealand.

Hayward Geocommunication Award

Awarded to a NZ-based geoscientist or geoscientists for the most meritorious contribution to geocommunication in the previous 3 calendar years (2018-2020).


Young Researcher/Student Awards 

Hornibrook Award

For a postgraduate student undertaking a research project involving methods of stratigraphic correlation and of relevance to NZ and/or the southwest Pacific.

Jim Ansell Geophysics Scholarship

Post-graduate scholarship for NZ’s top up-and-coming geophysicist.

John Beavan Geodetic Fieldwork Grant

Support for students involved with geodetic research to undertake or participate in associated fieldwork.

Wellman Research Award

A contribution of approximately $3750 towards research in New Zealand. Contribution can cover field, travel, analytical expenses, etc (more details on website).

Werner F. Giggenbach Prize for Geochemistry

For the most outstanding geochemistry publication in 2020 by a NZ-based young researcher. 


Special Awards:

S.H. Wilson Prize

Awarded in recognition of a lifetime of service in New Zealand Geochemistry.

New Zealand Geophysics Prize

For the most meritorious publication in NZ geophysics in the current and last 2 years (2019-2021).

Harold Wellman Prize

Awarded for a recent discovery of important fossil material within New Zealand.

Kingma Award

Awarded to the most outstanding Earth science technician in New Zealand.

Alan Mason Historical Studies Fund

Up to $500 awarded to assist research on the history of Earth science in New Zealand.