August 2020 Newsflash

Award nominations are now open

Award nomination deadline extended until Friday, 18 September 2020
Premier Geoscience-wide Awards

Hochstetter Lecturer
For a geoscientist with excellent public speaking skills to present new research to all branches of GSNZ.

McKay Hammer
For the author(s) of the most meritorious geoscience paper(s) from the last three years (2017-2019).

GSNZ Honorary Member
Nominations are called for to recognise outstanding lifetime contributions.

NEW for 2020! Hayward Communication Award
Awarded to a NZ-based geoscientist or geoscientists for the most meritorious contribution to geo-communication in the previous three calendar years (2017-2019). 

Young Researcher/Student Awards

Jim Ansell Geophysics Scholarship
Post-graduate scholarship for NZ’s top up-and-coming geophysicist.

John Beavan Geodetic Fieldwork Grant
Support for students involved with geodetic research to undertake or participate in associated fieldwork.

Wellman Research Award
A contribution of up to $4,000 towards research in New Zealand. Contribution can cover field, travel, analytical expenses, etc (more details on website).

Werner F. Giggenbach Prize for Geochemistry
For the most outstanding geochemistry publication in 2019 by a NZ-based young researcher. 

Special Awards 

New Zealand Geophysics Prize
For the most meritorious publication in NZ geophysics in the current and last two years (2018-2020).

Harold Wellman Prize
Awarded for a recent discovery of important fossil material within New Zealand.

Kingma Award
Awarded to the most outstanding Earth science technician in New Zealand.

Pullar-Vucetich Award
For the author(s) of the most meritorious paper(s) in tephrochronological research from the last three years (2017-2019).

Alan Mason Historical Studies Fund
Up to $500 awarded to assist research on the history of Earth science in New Zealand.

Please email your nominations or applications to the Awards Subcommittee Convenor, Kat Holt, by the 1st of September 2020.

More information on each of the awards and nomination templates are available on our website.

Applications are now open for the 2020 Aotearoa New Zealand Prime Minister's Science Prizes

Kia hiwa rā emerging scientists, ākonga students, kaiako teachers, science communicators and science leaders!

Entries for the 2020 round of the Prime Minister’s Science Prizes are now open. With a combined value of $1,000,000, these prizes recognise the impact of science on New Zealanders’ lives, celebrate the achievements of current scientists and encourage scientists of the future.

Applications close at 5pm on 9 October 2020.

More information Royal Society Te Apārangi

Polar Podcasts – the geological exploration of Greenland from the 1950s to the present

This series of podcasts highlights the progress of mineral exploration and geological research of Greenland, told from the personal perspectives of six geologists who have devoted their decades-long careers to studying Greenland.

Throughout the series, the interviewees convey their passion for the unique geology of Greenland and tell their stories in a way that is accessible to a general science-curious audience.

The 31-episode series launched on August 4 and runs weekly until January 2021.

Visit Polar Podcasts to listen to the series.