Young Researcher Travel Grants

Young Researcher Travel Grants

Due to travel restrictions, no grants were made in 2020, 2021 or 2022.


Return to main Awards page.





Past Young Researcher Travel Grant recipients

Year Person Purpose
2019 Bryant Chow Passive Imaging and Monitoring in Wave Physics workshop, Corsica
  Isuel Park International Union of Geodesy and Geophysics General Assembly, Montreal
  Francesco Turco Petroleum Geostatistics, Florence
  Shreya Kanakiya AGU, San Francisco
2018 Stephanie Junior (Otago)
Mirja Heinrich (Auckland)
Australian Synchrotron New User Symposium
Cities on Volcanoes Conference
2017 May Sas
Charline Lormand
Emanuele Giacalone
Elham Yousefzadeh
Sonja Bermudez
Rosie Cole
IAVCEI 2017 Scientific Assembly, Volcano Geology Workshop and Urbino Summer School on Paleoclimatology
2016 Not awarded  - 
2015 Greer Gilmer (Otago),
Braden Walsh (Massey)
Katrina Sauer (Otago)
Ben Hines (VUW)
Southern Connections Congress
Urbino Summer School
2014 Hamish Cattrell (Canterbury)
Latashia Wyering (Canterbury)
Daniel Blake (Canterbury)
Claire Shepherd (VUW & GNS)
Jack Williams (Otago)
World Geothermal Congress
GSA conference
Cities on Vocanoes
Climatic and Biotic events of the Paleogene
Gordon Research Conference and Workshop
2013 Ben Moorhouse (Otago)
Katrin Wellnitz (Otago)
Kristina Pascher (VUW)
Matt Maughan (Otago)
Tom Czertowicz (Otago)
International workshop on Volcano geology
Climatic and Biotic events of the Paleogene
2012 Pontus Lurcock AGU
2011 Robert Tinkler (Massey) INQUA

Young Researcher Travel Grants

The Young Researcher Travel Grants were set up by the GSNZ Committee in 2009. 

The purpose of grants are to fund (fully or in part) one or more early career geoscience researchers or PhD students to present at their first overseas international conference or international workshop.

The grant will fund, or contribute to funding, registration, travel and accommodation costs.