Kingma Award

2023 Kingma Award winner:

Margaret Norris


Margaret has worked in the Rafter Radiocarbon Laboratory (RRL) and GNS Science/DSIR for more than 33 years.  Her aptitude and behind the scenes work often go unnoticed, because there are no problems left to resolve. She has developed and published innovative techniques, becoming a recognised expert in these, and a go-to person for dealing with complex samples.

Beyond the technical contributions, Margaret has positively influenced those around her, mentoring and training dozens of students, and having developed a very competent and stable team that she leads to deliver a high-quality service delivery to the lab's clients.





Return to main Awards page



Past Kingma Award winners

Year Person From
2022 Regine Morgenstern GNS Science
2021 Sacha Baldwin University of Canterbury
2020 Jane Chewings Victoria University of Wellington
2019 Neville Palmer GNS Science
2018 Karen Britten GNS Science
2017 Jenny Black GNS Science
2016 Brent Pooley University of Otago
2015 Annette Rodgers Waikato University
2014 Kerry Swanson Canterbury University
2013 Marianna Terezow GNS Science
2012 Delia Strong GNS Science
2011 Belinda Smith-Lyttle GNS Science
2010 David Heron GNS Science
2009 David Feek  Massey University
2008 Iain Matcham formerly GNS, Lower Hutt
2007 Roger Tremain GNS, Lower Hutt
2006 Ritchie Sims Geol. Dept., University of Auckland
2005 Steve Wilcox NIWA, Wellington
2004 Rob Spiers Geol. Dept., University of Canterbury
2003 Ben Morrison GNS, Dunedin
2002 Lisa Northcote NIWA, Wellington
2001 Dirk Immenga Dept. Earth Sciences, University of Waikato
2000 John Patterson School of Earth Sciences, Victoria University
1999 Louise Cotterall; Damian Walls Auckland University; Otago University
1998 Roger Williams GNS, Wellington
1997 Richard Garlick NIWA, Wellington
1996 Greg Foster NIWA, Wellington
1995 Mike Trinder Geol. Dept. University of Otago
1994 Andrew Sutton Geol. Dept., Victoria University
1993 No award made -
1992 Andrew Grebneff Geol. Dept., University of Otago
1991 Stephen Brown Geol. Dept., University of Canterbury
1990 Vic O'Connor Tonkin & Taylor Ltd., Auckland
1989 Stephen Bergin Rock and Soil Mechanics Lab., University of Waikato
1988 Jane Forsyth NZGS, Dunedin
1987 Vaughan Stagpoole Geophysics Division, Wairakei
1986 Arthur Alloway Geol. Dept., University of Canterbury
1985 Martin Little Geol. Dept., University of Auckland
1984 June Cahill NZGS, Lower Hutt
1983 Edward Pak Geothermal Institute, University of Auckland
1982 John Mitchell NZ Oceanographic Institute, Wellington
1981 Brad Scott; Glen Coates NZGS, Rotorua; NZGS Christchurch
1980 Keith Calder Geol. Dept., Victoria University of Wellington
1979 Barry Burt NZGS, Lower Hutt
1978 John Simes NZGS, Lower Hutt
1977 Neville Orr NZGS, Lower Hutt
1976 Christine Whiteford Geophysics Division, Wellington
1975 D.R. Petty NZGS, Otara

Ko Kingma

Jacobus (Ko) Kingma (1916-1974) came to New Zealand to join the NZ Geological Survey in the Napier District Office in 1949.  This followed a colourful early life in Indonesia, a painful experience in a Japanese POW camp, and postgraduate research in Holland.  During his time at the Survey he published 4 four-mile maps (more than any other geologist) and set up the Survey's Sedimentology Laboratory in Christchurch, where he worked for the last 15 years of his life.

Ko has been described as one of the most stimulating, colourful and imaginative geologists New Zealand has known.  Some of his alternative ideas are to be found in his book "The geological structure of New Zealand".

Ko was the Geological Society’s third President (1957-58).  Among his other research interests were fossil ostracods (MSc), taxonomy of ants, and world religions. 

The Kingma Award for technicians was funded by his family in memory of Ko.