Honorary Life Members

2023 Honorary Member: 

Jarg Pettinga


Jarg has made sustained contributions to the Society and its activities since joining in 1974.  This includes being secretary and chair of different branches, three separate periods on the National Committee, including roles as Vice President and President. One of his major Society legacies includes the establishment of a paid Society Administrator – a role that continues to be vital to the organisational sustainability and efficiency of the Society.

Jarg was involved in the 1995-1996 GSNZ representative on the NZQA Unit Standards Writing Team (Earth Sciences for secondary schools), and compiled a GSNZ submission following the 1999 Mt Ruapehu eruption. He has been a regular contributor and supporter of the annual conference, having been involved in running three annual conferences and numerous conference fieldtrips. He has also been a keen supporter of student attendance at the conferences.

More widely, Jarg has contributed greatly to future generations of Earth scientists and the advance of the geosciences in New Zealand, with over 40 years of teaching, supervising 28 PhD students, and over 100 Master students. As well leading his own substantive and award-winning research, he has supported the geoscience careers of many others, through his university leadership roles, management of the National Natural Hazards Research Platform, and membership on the Marsden Fund Council and different Marsden panels.


Return to main Awards page.


Honorary Members

The GSNZ Honorary Member award is presented to an individual who has contributed significantly to the success of the GSNZ and/or its predecessors and to the advancement of the geosciences in New Zealand. It is not necessarily about recognising a lifetime contribution to geoscientific research but rather it acknowledges outstanding and sustained contributions made to the successful and continued operations of the GSNZ and the wider geoscience community.

Honorary Life Members




Vince Neall


Julie Palmer


Glenn Vallender


Nick Mortimer


Janet George


Campbell (Cam) Nelson


Mike Johnston


Jack Grant-Mackie


David Skinner


Bruce Hayward


Simon Nathan


Bruce Thompson