Hayward Geocommunication Award

2021 Hayward Geocommunication Award winner:

Oliver McLeod

Oliver received the award in recognition of his sustained efforts to engage in geoscience communication with community groups in the Waikato region and beyond.

This was achieved through his publication of the Geological Map of the Pirongia Volcano and the speaking tour that he undertook to promote this publication. This tour involved some 14 different events, during which time he engaged with almost 1000 members of the community. Of particular note, upon invitation, the map and book were presented by Oliver to Kiingi Tūheitia on 11 December 2020 as a gift from the Pūrekireki Marae (as reported in GSNZ Newsflash, 16 Dec 2020).

You can watch Oliver's acceptance message here.




Past Hayward Geocommunication Award winners

Year Recipient
2020 Hikurangi Subduction Margin Project Team

The Hayward Geocommunication Award

Offered for the first time in 2020, the Hayward Geocommunication Award is awarded to a New Zealand-based geoscientist or geoscientists for the most meritorious contribution to geocommunication in the previous 3 calendar years.

The award seeks to recognise and promote excellence, innovation and accuracy in “geocommunication” to “public” audiences by a New Zealand “geoscientist” or group of geoscientists.

This award has been made possible thanks to the generosity of GSNZ Life Member Bruce Hayward.